Home / Marshall Distinguished Lecture Series

Marshall Distinguished Lecture Series

The Jonathan and Maxine Marshall Distinguished Lecture Series brings to ASU nationally known scholars concerned with promoting culture through the humanities and a better understanding of the problems of democracy. This annual free public lecture is funded with a gift from Jonathan and Maxine Marshall.

Amy Goodman image

Amy Goodman
"Democracy Now!: 20 Years Covering the Movements Changing America"

Thursday, October 27, 2016
7:00 p.m
Old Main, Carson Ballroom, ASU Tempe campus

About the Speaker

Amy Goodman is the host and executive producer of Democracy Now! – an award-winning news program airing on more than 1,400 stations worldwide. The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard honored Goodman with the 2014 I.F. Stone Medal for Journalistic Independence Lifetime Achievement Award. She is also the first journalist to receive the Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the 'Alternative Nobel Prize' for “developing an innovative model of truly independent grassroots political journalism that brings to millions of people the alternative voices that are often excluded by the mainstream media.” She is the first co-recipient of the Park Center for Independent Media’s Izzy Award and was later selected for induction into the Park Center’s I.F. Stone Hall of Fame.

Goodman has coauthored six New York Times bestsellers. Her latest one, “Democracy Now!: Twenty Years Covering the Movements Changing America” looks back over the past two decades of Democracy Now! and the powerful movements and charismatic leaders who are reshaping our world. She co-writes A weekly column with Denis Moynihan (also produced as an audio podcast) syndicated by King Features, for which she was recognized in 2007 with the James Aronson Award for Social Justice Reporting.

Goodman has received the American Women in Radio and Television Gracie Award; the Paley Center for Media’s She’s Made It Award; and the Puffin/Nation Prize for Creative Citizenship. Her reporting on East Timor and Nigeria has won numerous awards, including the George Polk Award, Robert F. Kennedy Prize for International Reporting, and the Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia Award. Time Magazine named Democracy Now! its “Pick of the Podcasts,” along with NBC’s Meet the Press. PULSE named Goodman one of the 20 Top Global Media Figures of 2009.

She has also received awards from the Associated Press, United Press International, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and Project Censored. Goodman received the first ever Communication for Peace Award from the World Association for Christian Communication. She was also honored by the National Council of Teachers of English with the George Orwell Award for Distinguished Contribution to Honesty and Clarity in Public Language.

Visitor parking is available in the Fulton Parking Garage. Standard parking rates apply and attendees are responsible for any parking fees incurred. There are no tickets for the event and no RSVP is required. Seating is limited and doors will open at 6:30 p.m. If you have any additional questions, please call 480-965-2779.

2015Jane SmileyPulitzer Prize-winning novelist, essayist and biographer
2014Charles BlowVisual op-ed columnist for The New York Times
2013David WalshChief sports writer of the British newspaper The Sunday Times
2012Russ FeingoldFormer senator, public speaker, educator.
2011Nikki GiovanniWorld-renowned poet, activist and educator
2010Kerry KennedyInternational human rights advocate and author
2009Heather RaeAward-winning Cherokee film director and producer
2008Calvin TrillinHumorist, journalist and author
2007Robin WrightAcclaimed journalist
2006Jon MeachamManaging Editor of Newsweek
2005Seymour HershPulitzer Prize-winning journalist
2004Paul KrugmanProfessor, Economist, Author and New York Times Columnist
2003-cancelledWendy WassersteinPlaywright
2002Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.Senior attorney, Natural Resources Defense Council
2001-cancelledMartha NussbaumErnst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics, University of Chicago
2000Baruch BlumbergDirector, NASA's Astrobiology Institute
1998Martin MartyDirector, Public Religion Project, University of Chicago School of Divinity
1997Daniel GoldhagenAuthor, “Hitler's Willing Executioners: Ordinary Germans and the Holocaust”
1997Arthur CaplanDirector, Center of Bioethics, University of Pennsylvania
President, American Association of Bioethics
1996Doris Kearns GoodwinPulitzer Prize winning historian
1995Lester BrownFounder, WorldWatch Institute
1994Thomas WickerFormer editorial columnist, The New York Times
1993Arthur Schlesinger, Jr.Pulitzer Prize winning historian